April Book Salute: ‘A Lamb And A Llama’

3 Apr

I think I speak for the entire Sanford Harmony Program when I say that we are super proud of our friend, colleague and authority on all creative matters, Ashley Bustamante, who officially became a published children’s author on Monday. Her book a Lamb and a Llama is now available in bookstores and online, and it is absolutely adorable! Based on a true story of Picasso, a llama from the Pinnacle Peak Llama Ranch, Ashley turned a childhood memory into a fabulous children’s tale and made it even more charming with her own lovable illustrations. 

As a former early elementary school teacher, and now as a parent of young kids, I delight in discovering beautiful picture books with engaging stories that are layered with important life lessons. A Lamb and a Llama checks all of these boxes and more. This authentic piece of children’s literature weaves in lessons of responsibility, diversity and inclusion. My favorite lesson was taught by the little lamb, Nola, who perseveres in showing Picasso that friendships can be built on shared interests and celebrated differences. Even after being warned to not play together because they are so different, Nola astutely (and repeatedly) points out that he and Picasso actually have a lot in common, chanting observations like, “You like to jump and frolic too. Like it or not, I’m a lot like you.” 

This book has been published in paperback and a hardcover “Super Fun Edition” which includes activities for young children and fun facts for all. We read the latter at my house last night and it was a big hit! I will admit that after teaching 1st and 2nd grades for years most of my best trivia facts have come from children’s books, and I thank you Ashley for adding to my pool of knowledge.

So now for the really fun part…Ashley is hosting a contest over on her blog and on her book’s Facebook page. Become a fan of A Lamb and a Llama on Facebook and you will be entered to win one of several copies of this wonderful book and a chance to win an Amazon gift card. And since I love this book so much, I’d like to spread the love too! Share this book salute or Ashley’s post on Twitter or Facebook and come back here and let me know in the comment section. For each mention of A Lamb and a Llama (yep, every time) I will enter your name in a drawing for an autographed copy of the “Super Fun Edition!” (I have an in with the author). I’m going to let this ride through the end of the month so keep me posted of all of your postings! This book is well worth sharing.

3 Responses to “April Book Salute: ‘A Lamb And A Llama’”

  1. morecompassion April 10, 2012 at 7:02 am #

    I’m totally supporting this book and sharing your post with others. As a first-time aunt, I am ALWAYS on the lookout for books with strong positive messages. I love this 🙂

    • Hillary Manaster April 10, 2012 at 1:32 pm #

      Thank you so much! So far your chances of becoming the lucky winner are looking really good! 😉 I will keep you posted if your competition becomes steeper. Thank you again for supporting this book and its first time author.

  2. Hillary Manaster April 10, 2012 at 1:43 pm #

    I want to thank Chris Singer @Book_Dads for including this post in his Top-50 Daily last week. Chris, you are official entered in the contest 🙂

Leave a Reply

