Thanksgiving

22 Nov

Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday. I love the fall weather, I love the food, I love the non-denominational aspect of the holiday, and I love the classroom writing assignments on gratitude that it elicits. The following is from my daughter’s Pre-K classroom:

For those of you needing reading glasses like me, here is what my darling daughter said:

I am thankful for “having nice food. French toast is my favorite. My mom makes the best. Dad makes it too, but not as good.”

Delicious! Her reflection though, not my French toast. For I have NEVER – not even once – made French toast. Daddy, on the other hand, makes French toast nearly every Saturday morning. It’s become this “special” father-daughter ritual…perhaps a bit more one-sided than we had previously thought.

Thankfully Dad has a pretty good sense of humor and has become used to me taking credit for things he’s done. Now I’m not going to start revealing all the things I’ve undeservingly received praise for…that’s just silly (and I like praise). But I do confess here to not being the French toast chef of my child’s imagination because I think it’s pretty funny.

How is it that she so clearly distorted reality? How has she come to expect me to execute certain tasks like taking care of meals. Maybe it has something to do with messages she’s received about gender roles. Or maybe it has something to do with the fact that I was the one who ordered her the French toast from the café the other day that she really, really liked.

At the end of the day, I’m grateful that she’s grateful for the nice food that she has….and I’ll totally take the credit for the French toast!

One Response to “Thanksgiving”

  1. When the Kids Go To Bed November 22, 2011 at 7:42 am #

    That’s hysterical. Thanks for the morning chuckle!

Leave a Reply

