Who’s In Charge Here Anyway?!

8 Nov

Gracie is on day two of having slices of salami for breakfast. On one hand I can justify this breakfast request because it sort of feels like it belongs in the bacon/sausage family. On the other hand it makes my stomach turn because of the way this child eats salami. I’ll spare you the details, but trust me, it’s DISGUSTING!

This morning’s breakfast came to pass for two reasons: 1) Gracie never eats breakfast, and I was thrilled she was willing to consume something; and 2) I’m really not in charge here, am I?

This breakfast battle has been going on for quite some time now. While it aggravates me to no end, it delights my own mother. Her amusement has everything to do with a conversation we had when I was 22. At the time, I was a first year teacher, dedicated, passionate, and young – and nearly 10 years away from being a parent myself. The abovementioned conversation went a little like this:

Me: “I don’t understand how these parents could send their child to school without breakfast!”
Mom: “It’s hard in the morning.”
Me: “There’s even free breakfast at school. You know what they told me? ‘She’s not hungry in the morning.’ She’s not hungry?! This poor girl is starving everyday at 9:00! Her mom told me, ‘She doesn’t want to eat breakfast.’!!!!!”
Mom: “MmHmm.”
Me: “She doesn’t want to eat breakfast?! Who’s the parent here??!!”
Mom: (Laughing) “Oh…..you’ll see.”

So you see, my mom’s been waiting…knowing Karma would see to it that I’d have a child who “is not hungry in the morning.”

At 22 everything seemed so cut and dry. It all made sense. I was fairly certain as years continued to pass, my experiences would garner me even more knowledge. I was positive that once I was secure in adulthood I’d hold all the answers. So why is it that I don’t know what I am doing and everything is 100 times more complicated than it seemed 15 years ago?  

It makes me think of a line from one of my favorite parenting books – How To Talk So Kids Will Listen, And Listen So Kids Will Talk.

“I was a wonderful parent before I had children.”

No Doubt!

7 Responses to “Who’s In Charge Here Anyway?!”

  1. Debbie Leeb November 8, 2011 at 7:42 am #

    I actually said more than “mmm”” . I think my point was when you have three children and 45 minutes and one can’t find his homework, one needs help finishing a science project and the other needs help getting dressed, I’m not hungry sounds reasonable!

    • superheroprincess November 8, 2011 at 7:46 am #

      I said you said, “HmMmm.” Well, I was pretty sure I knew everything so I probably wasn’t listening… 🙂

  2. zolemia November 8, 2011 at 7:56 am #

    This post has me laughing and relating at the same time. I often have a little voice inside me asking “who’s in charge here anyway” all too frequently. Why I even wonder, I don’t know!

    • superheroprincess November 8, 2011 at 7:59 am #

      I’m certain I know who is charge here…it’s not me! 🙂

  3. The Good Greatsby November 8, 2011 at 8:30 pm #

    It definitely does seem easier to be a good parent before you actually have kids. I can’t believe how agonizingly slow my youngest eats breakfast every morning. The constant reminders to eat get both of our days off to a bad start. Sometimes it’s better to just let him go without.

Leave a Reply

