The Kind of Help We All Can Do Without

3 Nov

We have reached a turning point at my house. I am beginning to realize that my kids’ attempts at asserting their independence are producing some positive results. Well….at least some of the time, but hey – I’ll take it! 

Why didn’t anyone tell me what a life-changer it would be when my child could get into her own car seat and buckle herself in?! Underrated Milestone!!! And Molly is so proud of herself too. It’s hard to believe that I now have a kid who dresses herself in the morning, and it saves me time. There is of course the other child whose desire to dress herself wastes my time, so it’s pretty much a wash, but at least we’re not working in the negatives anymore.

At almost 3 and 5 years-old, “help” is starting to look a little more like help these days. I’m not getting crazy here…I did say, “a little.”  I occasionally have some cooperative table clearing, independent playroom cleaning and self-directed shoe-putting-on. These efforts still run a high risk of inducing tantrums or fights, but I view them as a step in the right direction.

Whenever my self-reliant kiddos are feeling full of assisting ambition, I start hearing Shel Silverstein’s “Helping” song in my head…..

Agatha Fry, she made pie
And Christopher John helped bake it
Christopher John, he mowed the lawn
And Agatha Fry helped rake it.
Now Zachary Zugg, took out the rug
And Jennifer Joy helped shake it
Then Jennifer Joy, she made a toy
And Zachary Zugg helped break it
And some kind of help is the kind of help
That helping’s all about
And some kind of help is the kind of help
We all can do without 

This song played on a loop yesterday after Gracie helped unpack the school bags all by her “big girl” self.

 Ahhhhh…..Love my helpers!!!!

Leave a Reply

