Best Practices

5 Oct

Best practices emphasize the importance of diversity in children’s play experiences and friendships.

But in reality, children almost universally tend to prefer to play with and befriend same-sex peers.

Essentially, our kids are only spending time with half of the population. What can we do to encourage diversity in their friendships?

2 Responses to “Best Practices”

  1. Megan (Best of Fates) October 6, 2011 at 8:04 am #

    I recently read a book titled Nurture Shock and it was talking about some studies showing that it’s by not talking about race that kids segregate themselves, as they do see color and if we don’t address it then they make their own (often erroneous) conclusions.

  2. Karlena May 7, 2012 at 4:48 pm #

    Here is the point of view from a 15 year old girl who is still going through this. When I was in lower elementry school (pre k-grade 4) I have numerous guy friends, but when I hit grade 5 and through out middle school 6-8, I found it much easier to hang around with girls. The reason for this being mainly because my body was changing and I was figuring myself out, and a lot of the time it is easier to deal with, with people goin through the same thing. It was easier and more comfortable personally. I believe a lot of girls feel that way. But now that I’m older I’m comfortable around guys, in fact I have more guy friends than girl friends and way more guy friend than I ever had in my younger years. But sometimes it is still nice to hang out with just girls talk (something guys dont enjoy as much) and just be girls, and that is alright too.

Leave a Reply

