Happy Ask a Stupid Question Day!

28 Sep

It’s Ask a Stupid Question Day! Really. You can Google it, but I should forewarn you that there is a lack of agreement on the actual date for celebration (seems fitting, right?) Some sources claim that it’s September 28th, others September 30th and still more state that it’s the last school day in the month of September. And while believing something to be true just because you were able to read about it on the internet may be considered a “stupid assumption,” we are not celebrating assumptions today. It’s all about the question.

As a teacher I used to tell my kids that smart people ask questions, for how else would they know so much if they didn’t inquire and get answers. I say this now to my husband: “The reason I’m asking you so many questions is because I’m really smart.” He rolls his eyes, but I know he knows I’m right.

Seriously though, think about all the knowledge you would miss out on if you didn’t speak-up and demand more information. So in honor of the presumed holiday, I’d like to dedicate this post to some of my own questions (and one or two borrowed from friends and relatives). The person/people to whom these questions were directed may have viewed them as “stupid,” but I’m sure glad I now have the answers.

1. Should I click here?
2. How do you spell “business?”
     See….I know how to spell it now.
3. Is a lamb a baby sheep?
4. At what temperature should I bake tilapia?
    This probably doesn’t sound that stupid, but when one asks one’s mom bi-weekly over the course of a 6 month   
    period, it may cross into the stupid question column. But now I know…it’s 400 for 20 minutes or is it 420????
5. Are jack-a-lopes real?
     While my husband cried actual tears when I asked this in a restaurant 6 years ago, I now have my answer. No
     they are not.

The Jack-A-Lope: courtesy of Where Lost Dreams Go

6. The sun is a star? I thought it was a planet.*
    *This question was actually asked by my mother who happens to be a very smart lady. While I fell over upon
      hearing this, I include it here as an apology for being so disparaging. There are no stupid questions Mom. 
      Sorry 
for laughing.
7. What’s the difference between a goose and a duck?
     Clearly my knowledge on animals is limited.
8. Does your steering wheel taste funny?*
     *
This is a true and honest question my sister was once asked…..
9. I know that the lake is east, but where is the lake?
10. Are we there yet?

Please don’t leave me celebrating this holiday alone. What are some of your finest questions?

10 Responses to “Happy Ask a Stupid Question Day!”

  1. BongoDogOwner September 28, 2011 at 11:52 am #

    Question #7 reminds me of a time a little girl saw a cracked window all taped up and said, “Goose tape.”

    • superheroprincess September 28, 2011 at 11:55 am #

      That just made me laugh out loud!!! I love it. From now on I will only refer to that silver roll as Goose Tape.

  2. Peter Leeb September 28, 2011 at 1:11 pm #

    Your Mom does make great Tilapia.at either 400 or 420

    • superheroprincess September 28, 2011 at 2:20 pm #

      I don’t think 420 is even a setting on many ovens. Is it? This may be my #11.

  3. Debbie September 28, 2011 at 2:07 pm #

    I have a friend who turned onto a street with a sign that read “no outlet.” Her daughter (12 years old at the time) asked her how people who lived there blew their hair dry?

  4. jenzoller September 28, 2011 at 6:06 pm #

    Once when planning a weather unit with a fellow teacher, they asked me, “what kind of clouds are in the sky when you can’t see any clouds?”

    On another note, when I was in 4th grade we were discussing the civil war and I asked who won…my teacher acted like it was the dumbest thing he had ever heard, and said “we have 50 states don’t we?” I felt like a big idiot! Because if this I also subscribe to the idea that there are no dumb questions and will never make a kid feel that way!

    I like your #4…I’m always asking my mom the same questions about cooking…why don’t I actually write it down????

    • superheroprincess September 28, 2011 at 6:47 pm #

      That cloud question is awesome Jen! And I agree…not stupid (just cute) I love it!
      So fun to hear from you my friend!!

  5. MapleJack-Kate January 12, 2012 at 9:43 pm #

    My first stupid question was indeed, who DID win the American civil war? Being as I am from Britain and having never learned about it, and having no idea why it was fought. Wikipedia provided the answers, but I was then confused to read that Abraham Lincoln, figurehead of the fight to free the slaves, was a Republican, and was opposed in this goal by the Democratic party. I thought that in the American political system, Republicans are more conservative and invested in the idea of class systems, and Democrats are more liberal and invested in equality and social mobility. Am I misunderstanding something? And if not, then what the heck changed?

Leave a Reply

