Sticky Fingers

26 Sep

My child has sticky fingers. And I’m not talking about the kind that one remedies with soap and water. That’s right, I’m raising a thief. Not intentionally of course, but the evidence can’t be denied.

Exhibit A

Several times over the past few weeks, my 2 ½ year old has come home from playdates and preschool with items that don’t belong to her. At first I thought it was an innocent mistake, but now I’m wise to her shenanigans. Here’s the ruse:

Gracie fills up a bag with toys from our house, arrives at school/friend’s house, empties said bag of such knickknacks and replaces them with the stolen goods.

Obviously, we have a problem. To say that I am proud of this would be entirely inaccurate. To say that I find this amusing would be pretty dead-on.  That may sound terrible, but I can’t help it. It’s funny!

I definitely did not have the same sense of humor when Molly was 2 ½. During her first week of preschool I received a notice that she bit another child. I LOST MY MIND. I did. I couldn’t believe my child would do such a thing. Was I rearing an animal?! You can’t bite! What terrible underlying psychological element was to blame for this, and how ever would I repair it?! Oh the discussions, the questioning, the lecture, the tirade that ensued on the way home. And for poor Molly, “the way home” included stops at THREE book stores to find a copy of Teeth Are Not for Biting by Elizabeth Verdick. Did I mention that she was 2 ½ and I lost my mind?

I recently read a blog posted by Mommyfriend  (Lori Garcia) on Babble.com’s Toddler Times. In the post entitled “Flunking Toddlerhoodthe author mused about taking on a toddler with a different attitude the second time around.  In it she writes, 

“Yep, I gave up trying to figure it all out. Peace out to the fear that every naughty behavior has some deeper psychological meaning. Goodbye to the worry of a dinner left unfinished. So long to the idea of an afternoon nap. I have to believe there are worse things.”

I couldn’t agree more! If letting go of the stress, taking things less seriously and enjoying the ride mean you’re flunking toddlerhood, well then I’ll gladly receive a Big Fat F!  I have to say, things are just funnier this time around, and I couldn’t be more relieved.

2 Responses to “Sticky Fingers”

  1. Stacy Bankier September 26, 2011 at 9:00 pm #

    I love it and I love her!! Sometimes there is nothing funnier than naughty….

Leave a Reply

