Does This Mean I’m A Soccer Mom?!

16 Sep

Molly started soccer this week, so I guess I’m officially a soccer mom. I don’t even know what that means….are people still even saying that? In any case, our house was full of excitement as we anticipated this season’s kick-off. Is that something you say in reference to soccer? Forgive me. I’m new here….

Although this is our rookie season, we have been talking about soccer since Molly started moving her legs. Even at 4 months, she was a kicker!  

Jason and I have always thought it would be great if Molly played soccer, so I’m sure that has a lot to do with how enthusiastic she has been with this whole idea. I could go on and on about all the reasons I want my kids to try lots of different activities, especially sports – improve self-esteem, positive body image, diversify experiences….. But if I take up more room with my babble, I won’t have enough space for this picture of Molly showing off her new gear:

Obviously I’m thrilled Molly is getting involved in something she is finding exciting, but one of my not-so-secret reasons for loving this whole soccer business is that I really like the idea of her doing something not so “hyper-girly.”

So I had to feign support when Molly ran off the field to tell us the group voted, and the name of the team was…… The Purple Butterfly Princesses. “That’s great!” I told her, although inside I felt disappointed. I was hoping this group of four-year olds would come up with something a little more intimidating. But it’s not my team….it’s their’s and they were feeling really good about themselves!

As we walked back to the car, discussing the fantasticness that just took place at the park, Molly turned to me and said, “I wanted us to be the Purple Hawks.”

……that’s my girl!

6 Responses to “Does This Mean I’m A Soccer Mom?!”

  1. whatimeant2say September 16, 2011 at 5:54 pm #

    What a hysterical name for a soccer team! Good for Molly to speak up for something other than “Princesses”!

    • superheroprincess September 16, 2011 at 7:06 pm #

      I know….I’m thinking hawks would have more command of the field than butterfly princesses. But what do I know. In all fairness, I’ve never seen a purple butterfly princess.

  2. Debbie September 16, 2011 at 8:38 pm #

    I think a purple butterfly could be very intimidating… Have you ever seen one?

  3. Bridget September 17, 2011 at 10:50 am #

    I’m going to go ahead and make the wild assumption that the Purple Butterfly Princesses is not a co-ed team? (I would have made the same assumption about the Purple Hawks, though. Or really any team name starting wtih purple, pink, lavendar, magenta, rose…you get the point.)

    I have a great picture from my daughter’s kindergarten year in soccer. She’s the tiny blonde in the coral uniform (oops, I forgot coral in the list!), surrounded by three hulking girls in blue, in front of the opposing team’s goal. She’s in the midst of executing a perfect Keanu-Reeves-in-the-Matrix body-bending stunt. I’m pretty sure she scored, but she definitely rocked the field.

    Above this picture the frame proudly proclaims, “The Soccer Chicks!”

    It’s a good thing when our kids don’t feel limited by superficial labels. However, I’m all for skipping such silly labels!!

    I think that your daughter and mine would make one heck of a soccer team!

Leave a Reply

