I Love Teachers!

9 Sep

I LOVE teachers! I loved being a teacher, I love working with teachers, and I love the teachers that my own kids have and love. I do hope the feeling is mutual. What parent doesn’t want the teacher to love their own kid? But that is one of the greatest things about a great teacher – you always believe your child is loved.

Last night my two and a half year old had her Back to School class party. Gracie was covered in equal parts paint, popsicle and pasta sauce.  Miss Cindy looks from Gracie to my husband and me and says, “She likes to party hard!” Sporting her enhanced dress, crazy hair and dark circles under her eyes, Gracie really was a sight to behold. Racing around the room with reckless abandon, this wild child had one fabulous night. I just know it’s going to be a fantastic school year! 

I had never quite thought about it before, but Miss Cindy really hit the nail on the head, Gracie does party hard. It makes me feel so good as a parent to feel like my child’s teacher really “gets” my kid. It is truly the mark of a wonderful teacher – someone who, beyond all the knowledge of content matter, stages of development and best practices, truly loves and understands kids.

When my oldest daughter, Molly, was in this same preschool room, Miss Cindy (unknowingly) gave Grace her first nickname – Trouble Making Baby – which we still use today.  I asked Cindy this morning if she remembered that conversation we had 2 years ago in which this nickname was born. She had a vague memory. Isn’t that the beauty of teachers?  You make impressions everyday that get carried beyond the classroom walls. Your influence is so significant, yet so copious, there is no way you could possibly keep track.  Whether it’s a funny nickname or an understanding of the Pythagorean Theorem, teachers impact the lives of their kids and families in ways that they don’t always realize.

So I’d like to take up a few lines in this blog to acknowledge some of the amazing teachers that have left impressions on my life.

To Miss Wiggy:  I think of you every time I see an image of a triple scoop ice cream cone.
To Mr. Hiller:  I’m sorry I was such a jerk. I want you to know Karma saw to it that my first year teaching was no picnic.
To Ms. Perri:  Please forgive all the passive verbs I included in this post.
To Ms. Davis:  As a co-worker, mentor and friend, you imparted a deep love for the glue gun.
To Ms. Briskman: You are the master of the thematic unit!
To Ms. Terri: Thank you for guiding Molly out of her shell.

I could go on, but I was hoping you would.  I’d like to invite you all to acknowledge the wonderful teachers that have enhanced your life or the life of your child. Help me fill up the comment section of this blog with positive thoughts and reminiscing. I hope you will join me in this juice box toast to all the amazing teachers embarking on another amazing school year!

14 Responses to “I Love Teachers!”

  1. Edl September 10, 2011 at 10:35 am #

    Mrs. M, for reassuring me that you can be intelligent without knowing how to spell the word intelligent.

    • superheroprincess September 10, 2011 at 2:53 pm #

      From what I understand, neither Einstein nor Churchill were winning any spelling bees. Quality lesson EDL!

  2. Debbie September 10, 2011 at 3:24 pm #

    To Mrs Levi, Slavick and Manley for their reassurances that my son would grow into a wonderful adult. They were right!!

    • superheroprincess September 10, 2011 at 4:55 pm #

      Cheers to another great group of teachers!! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  3. Ina Manaster September 10, 2011 at 9:37 pm #

    I recently sent a letter to a college professor who made a huge impact on my life and how I thought of myself. He sent a reply, remembering me and thanking me for letting him know the contribution he made. Once again, “Thank you, Dr. Michael Schwartz”!

    • superheroprincess September 10, 2011 at 9:40 pm #

      Wow! That’s really nice! A “thank you” makes everyone feel good (givers and receivers). 🙂

  4. Ann Slavick September 11, 2011 at 10:18 am #

    As a retired teacher who still misses her “kids” I want the world to know that teaching is the best job in the world. You go home from school every day feeling that you have done something positive for at least one student. Where else will you have the ability to turn even one student on to learning something they never knew before or find that kind of happiness for yourself?

    • superheroprincess September 11, 2011 at 3:09 pm #

      Teaching is the best job! And you were truly one of the greats Ms. Slavick!

  5. Cindy September 11, 2011 at 1:53 pm #

    Such a wonderful blog. Teachers aren’t given enough credit. Thanks Hilary for bringing it to everyone’s attention.

    • superheroprincess September 11, 2011 at 3:12 pm #

      Thanks Cindy! I’ve always been inspired by your amazing teaching career and the wonderful work you do with your kiddos.

  6. Betsy September 11, 2011 at 6:23 pm #

    Thanks, Hillary! You have influenced my practice through collaboration and continue to inspire me with your knowledge, resources, ideas, and writing. Thank you!

  7. Bridget September 13, 2011 at 2:11 pm #

    To Mrs. Henze of AZ, Thank you for truly “knowing” my first grader. She is in high school now and you are the teacher that she always remembers.

    To Mr. Pearson of AZ, Thank you for being so patient as child, after child, after child of mine have been in your math classes. (Rest assured, I have many more that will see you in the coming years!). We will continue to differ in opinion on the best National League baseball team, but as a teacher you know your stuff!

    To Mr. Morrison of IL, Thank you for making school so much fun for my child. Pioneer Week was awesome!

    To each and every teacher/caregiver/snuggler/wiper-of-noses/changer-of-diapers (no matter how messy)/cheerleader/comforter of babies and toddlers…you are amazing.

  8. Ashley September 13, 2011 at 10:59 pm #

    To Mr. C- Thank you for truly loving your job and your students and for your enthusiasm. Every class I took from you (all 3 of them!) you showed a love for your work from the beginning to the end, never once giving off a vibe that you would rather be doing something else. You were never there to criticize your students–only to support and encourage and help them reach their potential. You never made anyone feel like their ideas weren’t good enough. You were one of the golden ones who truly cared. Thank you!

  9. Ashley September 14, 2011 at 4:38 pm #

    Actually after posting, I realized there are a lot more teachers I should be giving a shout out
    too.

    Mrs. T- Thanks for teaching the other kids that just because I was the nerdiest looking kid ever, it didn’t mean that there weren’t good things about me. I so wish I had a teacher to do that when I got to middle school and had new bullies to face!

    Mrs. G- Thank you for seeing my potential and encouraging me to take honors classes! I never would have thought I could if you hadn’t pushed me.

    Mrs. GS- Thanks for inviting me to come chat with you about books during lunch. Middle school lunch was a tough place to be for me and it helped to have a place to go. Looking back I really see what an amazing thing that was that you did, and I really enjoyed all our conversations.

    Mr. CR- Thank you for being the most awesome math teacher ever! I never enjoyed a math class as much as I did with you. You really took the time to make sure every student in your class understood the material, and you were awesome at finding different ways to teach concepts so that it clicked with learners of every kind. So many teachers just teach one way and if you can’t understand it that way, you’re stuck. Thanks for going above and beyond!

Leave a Reply

